History of the Galiano Oceanfront Inn and SpaThe Heart of Galiano Island
The Galiano Oceanfront Inn and Spa has been operating as a special place to stay on Galiano Island since the early part of the last century.
Standing proudly in its choice waterfront location, it has long been a prominent island landmark - the first place arriving guests and islanders see when they approach by ferry.
In the 1930’s, an English couple purchased the property, and built a Tudor home, naming it "Dunroamin" a reminder of home in England. The Scoones family, still on Galiano today, owned it for many years, inviting guests to stay at their resort named “Greenways”.
In the early 1950’s, a fire claimed the old Tudor building, leaving only the stone verandah and steps. The owners at that time, Fred and Margaret Robson, built a new home on the site, as well as a fashionable “motor court” that served family and fishing holiday guests for many happy years. The resort enjoyed a reputation as one of the foremost fishing resorts on the West Coast, when the salmon runs were at their peak.
In 2000, the resort was purchased by new owners who began its transformation into the delightful fusion of form and function that welcomes guests today. A passion for perfection and a commitment to walking softly on the land inspired the design, the architecture, and the physical structure of the buildings. The style and quality of the finishings and the extensive gardens showcase, at every turn, the attention to excellence that is the hallmark of the resort, its owners, and its dedicated staff.
The earliest settlers on the land planted specimen trees at the turn of the last century, and they still feature on the property: the London plane and the giant Sequoia. Rock gardens and waterfalls, ponds and garden plantings were all created by the current owners.